Jul 22, 2024  
2020-2021 General Catalog 
2020-2021 General Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Theatre (Graduate Program)


For information regarding the UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM, click here.   

Program Overview

The LSU School of Theatre continues to achieve national and international prominence in scholarship and performance. The MFA degree— with a specialization in acting—is a two-year, year-round professional actor training program featuring the integration of both traditional and innovative physical, vocal, and process approaches for 21st century performers. The MFA acting program begins in the summer term and runs for two consecutive years. The MFA degree—with specializations in costume technology and design; properties technology; and scenic technology and design — are three-year programs preparing the theatre artisan for a professional role encompassing a wider range of production and/or teaching responsibilities. The training for exceptional candidates is augmented through undergraduate teaching opportunities and production positions with Swine Palace, the department’s affiliate professional theatre. Our PhD program—with concentrations in theatre history, dramatic literature, and theory and criticism—develops the knowledge, critical skills, and methodological approaches that will allow students to conduct research as professional scholars and become excellent teachers in the field. The School of Theatre fosters creativity and originality in its stage productions and scholarship, and offers a learning environment unique to the region.

With Swine Palace, the school has distinguished itself as one of the few programs in the country that supports a full-time, year-round equity theatre company.

While pursuing their degrees, students have the opportunity to work alongside world-class artists in every facet of production. The School of Theatre makes it a priority to invite theatre and film professionals to offer masterclasses, seminars and presentations as well as to participate in our production season.

The School of Theatre is engaged in addressing challenges in the areas of social justice and inclusivity. Additionally, the School of Theatre seeks intersections in the University community where the interdisciplinary engagement augments the understanding of connectivity that exists between varied academic units.


Kristin Sosnowsky, Chair
John Fletcher, Head of PhD Program
Nicholas Erickson, Head of MFA Acting Program
James L. Murphy, Head of MFA Technology and Design Programs
School of Theatre TELEPHONE 225-578-4174
FAX 225-578-4135
WEBSITE www.theatre.lsu.edu


Applications and supporting materials for all graduate study must be submitted through the online application site for the LSU Graduate School. Official transcripts, official test scores, and other materials that come from third-party sources must be mailed to: LSU Office of Graduate Admissions, 114 West David Boyd Hall, Baton Rouge, LA 70803. These paper documents are stored electronically and departments have access to all materials submitted by and/or on behalf of a student applying to graduate study.

Applications for admission are received and evaluated by program heads in the School of Theatre. Applicants must adhere to the application deadlines established by the Graduate School.

Students seeking admission must submit transcripts of all previous university work, three letters of recommendation, a résumé, and a statement of goals. Individual programs have additional requirements as follows:

  • PhD - current GRE scores; a statement of purpose; and a writing sample, preferably a research paper written for a graduate course. Phone or online interviews may follow.
  • MFA with specialization in acting—an audition.
  • MFA with specialization in costume technology and design, properties technology or scenic technology and design —a portfolio and a personal interview.
  • International students whose native language is not English must also submit an acceptable TOEFL, IELTS, or PTE score.

Financial Assistance

Financial assistance is available to some students. Support may be available through the student’s home department or other units in the form of research or teaching assistantships. A student should contact his or her home department for more information on available assistantship positions. To ensure consideration for financial aid, all application materials should be submitted in accordance with deadlines established by the LSU Graduate School. School deadlines for funding are January 15 for the PhD program and March 1 for the MFA program.

Graduate Faculty

(check current faculty listings by department here)

John Eddy (3F) • Stage Properties and Design
Tara Houston (6A) • Scenic Design
Nicholas Erickson (M) • Movement for the actor
Femi Euba (M) • Playwriting, black drama, dramatic literature
John Fletcher (M) • Theatre history, theory, literature
Sonya Cooke (6A) • Acting, directing
George Judy (M) • Acting and directing
Kyla Kazuschyk (6A) • Costume Design and Construction
James L. Murphy (M) • Theatre technology and design
Eun Jin Cho ( )• Interim Sound Design and Technology
Isaac Pletcher (6A) • Film and Television
C Touchet ( ) • Lighting and Projection Design
Claudio Ribeiro (6A) • Dance
Alan Sikes (6A) • Theatre History, Theory, Women’s and Gender Studies
Kristin Sosnowsky (M) • Arts administration
Shannon Walsh (6A) • Theatre history, Women’s and Gender Studies
Christopher H. Wood (3P) • Scenic Technology 


    Doctor of PhilosophyMaster of Fine Arts