Mar 03, 2024  
2013-2014 General Catalog 
2013-2014 General Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Theatre (Graduate Program)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: The Graduate School


For information regarding the UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM, click here. 

Program Overview

On the eve of our 83rd season, the LSU Department of Theatre continues to achieve national and international prominence in scholarship and performance. The MFA degree— with a specialization in acting—is a two-year, year-round professional actor training program featuring the integration of both traditional and innovative physical, vocal, and process approaches for 21st century performers. The MFA acting program begins in the summer term and runs for two consecutive years. The MFA degree—with specializations in scenic technology and design; costume technology and design; and properties technology— is a three-year program preparing the theatre artisan for a professional role encompassing a wider range of production and/or teaching responsibilities. The training for exceptional candidates is augmented through undergraduate teaching opportunities and production positions with Swine Palace, the department’s affiliate professional theatre. Applications are being accepted for admission into the MFA degree program in acting for summer 2013 and design/tech program for fall 2013. Our PhD program—with concentrations in theatre history, dramatic literature, and theory and criticism—develops the knowledge, critical skills, and methodological approaches that will allow students to conduct research as professional scholars and become excellent teachers in the field. The Department of Theatre fosters creativity and originality in its stage productions and scholarship, and offers a learning environment unique to the region.

With Swine Palace, the department has distinguished itself as one of the few programs in the country that supports a full-time, year-round equity theatre company.

While pursuing their degrees, students have the opportunity to work alongside world-class artists in every facet of production. Many students are Actors’ Equity Association (AEA) eligible by the time they graduate.


Kristin Sosnowsky, Chair and Swine Palace Managing Director
John Fletcher, Head of PhD Program
George Judy, Head of MFA Acting Program
James L. Murphy, Head of MFA Technology and Design Programs
TELEPHONE 225-578-4174
Swine Palace TELEPHONE 225-578-3533
FAX 225-578-4135


Applications and supporting materials for all graduate study must be submitted through the online application site for the LSU Graduate School: Official transcripts, official test scores, and other materials that come from third-party sources must be mailed to: Graduate Student Services, 114 West David Boyd Hall, Baton Rouge, LA 70803. These paper documents are stored electronically and departments have access to all materials submitted by and/or on behalf of a student applying to graduate study.

Applications for admission are received and evaluated by program heads in the Department of Theatre year-around. Applicants must adhere to the application deadlines established by The Graduate School.

Students seeking admission must submit transcripts of all previous university work, three letters of recommendation, a résumé, and a statement of goals. Individual programs have additional requirements as follows:

  • PhD - current GRE scores; a writing sample, preferably a research paper written for a graduate course
  • MFA with specialization in acting—an audition.
  • MFA with specialization in costume technology and design, or properties technology—a portfolio and a personal interview.
  • MFA with specialization in scenic technology and design—current GRE scores; a portfolio and a personal interview.
  • International students whose native language is not English must also submit an acceptable TOEFL or IELTS score.

Financial Assistance

Financial assistance is available to some students. Support may be available through the student’s home department or other units in the form of research or teaching assistantships. A student should contact his or her home department for more information on available assistantship positions. To ensure consideration for financial aid, all application materials should be submitted in accordance with deadlines established by the LSU Graduate School. Departmental deadlines for funding are January 15 for the PhD program and March 1 for the MFA program.

Graduate Faculty

(check current listings by department by clicking this link)

Patrick Acampora (M) • Theater technology
Joanna Battles (6A) • Voice and Speech
Andrea Brown (6A) • Costume Technology
Molly Buchmann (3P) • Dance
Jim Bussolati (3P) • Props Master
Eun Jin Cho (M) • Sound design and technology
Nicholas Erickson (7M) • Movement for the actor
Femi Euba (M) • Playwriting, black drama, dramatic literature
John Fletcher (3A) • Theatre history
Richard Holden (6A) • Acting, directing
George Judy (7M) • Acting and directing
Brandon R. McWilliams (6A) • Costume Design
James L. Murphy (7M) • Theatre technology and design
Alan Sikes (6A) • Theatre History, Gender and Sexuality in Performance
Kristin Sosnowsky (7M) • Arts administration
Ken White (7M) • Lighting design

Degree Programs

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: The Graduate School